Several same-sex couples came together in the first minutes of New Year’s Day in Honolulu to become the first in the state’s history to enter into civil unions.

With Hawaii and Delaware joining the list Sunday, five states now recognize same-sex civil unions, while six other states and Washington, D.C., allow same-sex marriage, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Illinois, New Jersey and Rhode Island already recognize civil unions providing state-level spousal rights to same-sex couples, the NCSL says.

Marriage licenses are given to same-sex couples in Massachusetts, Connecticut, Iowa, Vermont, New Hampshire, New York and the District of Columbia, the NCSL says.

Full story here…